

Starch Europe announces winners of 2015-2016 Safety Awards

Press Release

Improving safety practices and achieving a safer working environment is a priority for all the EU starch producers. Starch Europe announces today the winners of this year safety awards.

In 2014, Starch Europe launched the Starch Europe Safety Programme which recognizes the best performing EU starch plants in minimizing accidents at work. Starch Europe companies go beyond all relevant national, EU and international health and safety legislation, to minimize the possibility of accidents occurring.

The Starch Europe Safety Programme grants two types of awards:

The year award – awarded to plants which registered no employee lost workday cases involving days away from work for the calendar year, and no employee and no non-employee workplace fatalities for the calendar year.

The million hour award – awarded to plants which registered 1 million consecutive employee hours without an employee lost workday case and without a workplace-related fatality of an employee or non-employee during the period.

Data are collected on a quarterly basis by PWC from companies participating on a voluntary basis. The collection of this data started from 1st July 2014. PWC ensures the validity and consistency of the data provided and reports on eligible plants for each award.

39 of the 75 starch plants in the EU represented by the 24 member companies of Starch Europe, participated in the safety award scheme from 1 July 2015 to 30 June 2016¹. For the first year, Starch Europe grants both Year Awards and Million-Hour Awards.

Starch Europe is delighted to announce that the 4 following plants are the first to be awarded the Million-Hour Award for 2015-2016:

Million Hour Award	
COMPANY	PLANT
Cargill	Castelmassa, Italy
Cargill	Haubourdin, France
Cargill	Sas van Gent, Netherlands
Roquette	Amilina, Lithuania

.

¹ In 2014-2015, 41 plants participated, of whom 15 received the year Award.



The Year Award was granted to 17 plants this year – 2 more than last year. Starch Europe is pleased to announce that the following plants were granted the Year Award:

Year Award	
COMPANY	PLANT
Avebe	Gasselternijveen, Netherlands
Avebe	Malmö, Sweden
Avebe	Ter Apelkanaal, Netherlands
Cargill	Barby, Germany
Cargill	Bergen op Zoom, Netherlands
Cargill	Castelmassa, Italy
Cargill	Krefeld, Germany
Cargill	Manchester, United Kingdom
Cargill	Wroclaw, Poland
Finnamyl Oy	Kokemäki, Finland
Roquette	Amilina, Lithuania
Roquette	Beinheim, France
Roquette	Vecquemont, France
Tereos	Haussimont, France
Tereos	Lillebonne, France
Tate & Lyle	Tate and Lyle, Netherlands
Tate & Lyle	Amylum, Slovakia

Our congratulations to the winners.

For further information, please contact:

Jamie Fortescue – 00 32 2 289 67 67 – <u>jamie.fortescue@starch.eu</u> – www.starch.eu

About Starch Europe is the trade association which represents the interests of the EU starch industry both at European and international level. Its membership comprises 25 EU starch producing companies, together representing more than 95% of the EU starch industry and, in associate membership, 7 national starch industry associations. The European starch industry manufactures over six hundred products including native starches, modified starches, liquid and solid sweeteners as well as oils, proteins and fibres that are used as ingredients and functional supplements in a vast array of food, feed and industrial applications. In 2015, from 75 starch production facilities in 20 of the 28 EU Member States, the European starch industry processed about 23,6 million tonnes of agricultural raw materials, roughly split between wheat (8.5 million tonnes), maize (8.1 million tonnes), and starch potatoes (7 million tonnes) transformed into 10.7 million tonnes of starch and 5





million tonnes of co-products. With a turnover of 7.9 billion Euros, it also invested about 550 million Euros, of which over 82 million Euros in Research & Development.